The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

Did My Son Eat A Mouse and Other Shop Floor Tales

I am working today in A&E and am having a little breather. Started at 8am and it’s now 14.28 to be precise.
It’s not been bad at all from a fasting perspective as the day has flown and it feels good to be awake and alert working.
Getting up at 7 am to be here for 8 am was hard as the normal wake up coffee had to be left out. When I work in A&E it’s the tea and coffee that keeps me going and copious amounts of it too.

ThWe have had some wonderful cases this morning including the mum who has a mouse phobia and panicked because she thought her son had eaten a dead mouse. He hadn’t. But is so lovely to reassure.

I have been in paediatric A&E today and it’s actually been fine – speaking to our smaller cuter clientele. There have been quite a lot of them though. But rewarding nonetheless. We have managed to get vomiting children to stop and take fluids  – always great when you can revive them back to their chirpy selves with some diarolyte. Other children who have not eaten and drunk for well over week because of painful mouth sores and ulcers have been treated and are now consuming vast packs of sandwiches.

I don’t feel hungry or thirsty – maybe it’s because I’m busy or maybe it’s because I’m getting used to fasting as it’s the 8th day.

I slept late last night so the one thing I am looking forward to is crashing out when I get home this evening. But the working pattern of starting early and finishing around 6pm would probably be the most sensible. Shame I have booked my shifts as lates starting at midday and going on until midnight. Doh!

Excuse typos as writing on my phone during my break.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

thekfcmonument

in and out of the Ramallah bubble

Overtime Cook

Just another WordPress.com site

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

