The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

Independence Day – Algeria

Me by the golden Lotus Flower monument, Setif. Algerian Ministry of Tourism SITEV 2013

Me by the golden Lotus Flower monument, Setif. Algerian Ministry of Tourism SITEV 2013

July 5th is Independence Day for Algeria. What an eventful Ramadhan it has been for Algeria. An amazing performance at the World cup that brought them respect and high accolades of praise from all over the world and then today – a time to remember, reflect and honour those who sacrificed so much.

Me in Setif, 2013. Algeria Ministry of Tourism trip, SITEV

Me in Setif, 2013. Algeria Ministry of Tourism trip, SITEV

Independence was gained from France in 1962 after many years of a bitter struggle against it’s colonial rule. Them path since has not been entirely smooth but it’s getting there.

How can you not love this place - it's beautiful. SITEV 2013

How can you not love this place – it’s beautiful. SITEV 2013

 

I have a particular soft spot for Algeria – for it’s culture, it’s fighting spirit, it’s strength and it’s beauty. I have only been there four times and if I could stay longer I would. Last year I was lucky enough to be invited to go on the Ministry of Tourism SITEV trip around Algeria. Never have I felt the pulse of a country under my skin in the way I have with Algeria. I was thrilled to learn that my name – one that I hardly heard of anyone else having – was actually quite common in Algeria. Each time I have arrived at Algiers airport I have a rush of adrenalin and a buzz with excitement in way that I don;t have anywhere else. I am not sure where this comes from but I have always felt drawn to the country since I first learnt of it’s story when I was 18 years old, living with two Algerian students in Manchester. The two girls used to talk me through the marches and stories of the civil war of the 1990s as we watched the news together. The more I learnt about Algeria’s struggles and it’s victories the more I loved it. And that love has continued all these years.

Me and Amel from Algerian Ministry of Tourism  as part of SITEV 2013, in Constantine - the city of bridges.

Me and Amel from Algerian Ministry of Tourism as part of SITEV 2013, in Constantine – the city of bridges.

Me with other SITEV 2013 delegates. Having fun in Constantine. Was a lovely day.

Me with other SITEV 2013 delegates. Having fun in Constantine. Was a lovely day.

Me in Setif at the famous fountain monument with friends made on SITEV 2013.

Me in Setif at the famous fountain monument with friends made on SITEV 2013.

That's what you call a six pack! Roman ruins in Algeria are phenomenal.

That’s what you call a six pack! Roman ruins in Algeria are phenomenal.

Happy Independence Day Algeria.

xx

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Independence Day – Algeria

  1. yacinehelali on said:

    Bless you Saleyha! Algeria is so underrated but once you meet its people, you know it’s impossible to put us in any box! 😀 African, Arab, Berberian and iconoclastic all at once!

Leave a Reply

The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

thekfcmonument

in and out of the Ramallah bubble

Overtime Cook

Just another WordPress.com site

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

