The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

CAGE The ReSisters Event – Day 7

 Screen Shot 2014-07-05 at 15.42.22

One week down already. I feel relatively acclimatised now. It’s amazing how the body adjusts to new routines and it’s good to give yourself a shake out from the norm. Just been chilling and watching the Women’s Wimbledon Final and pondering this evening.

I am speaking at a CAGE event called the Resisters. It’s focused on the subject of the impact of women living through the War on Terror. It’s my first time of talking at a CAGE event. The subject matter of my 15 min talk will be on Women in War. I don’t normally prepare for talks – I just go and speak with what emerges in those moments of slight anxiety but with a passion for the subject matter.

But today I am pondering my words because there just is so much to say after the many years of heading to conflict zones or post conflict transitional zones. The first time was back in 1997 in Bosnia, my first time into of working in a country emerging from war and then bringing me up to date to the tragedy of what is going on in Syria with what I witnessed last year in 2013. The women I have met along the way, living through all the horror of war with the associated loss and the ongoing risks, have always left me astounded by their strength. It is quite an honour to be able to tell some of their stories today in tribute to them and their strength and courage.

For more information

http://www.cageuk.org/event/resisters

Screen Shot 2014-07-05 at 15.42.54

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

thekfcmonument

in and out of the Ramallah bubble

Overtime Cook

Just another WordPress.com site

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

