The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

Fasting in the midday sun

I had some filming to do today in London. I needed to be there for about 2pm but just quivered at the thought of getting onto the underground in the heat of today – something over 30 degrees I think. I got a taxi instead and fell asleep learning my lines in the back.

The rest of the team did a pseudo fast with me – I think people find it difficult to eat and drink in front of fasters. It was immensely hot and Rob was not only producing and directing the shoot he was also filming it too. So I disappeared for little periods of time and hoped he was gulping water during my absences. No point in everyone getting dehydrated. And anyway I have been doing this for most of my life and am used to it. And I am getting acclimatised to it for this year now.

I stumbled, coughed and spluttered my way through the pieces to camera. But it’s all in the mind – because as soon as Rob said ‘Action’ I imagined  a switch turning on and sparkly me was there. It really did work.

It flowed so well that the shoot finished earlier than anticipated and I piled into the back of a taxi once more to get home. I fell into blissful sleep again and let someone else worry about the traffic. When I got home I had about 7 minutes to the break of fast time and I just appreciated the cool evening air like I was experiencing it for the first time. I think when you fast all the things you go through and are denied are reinforced in their wonderfulness and you appreciate them that much more. A cool evening breeze and a glass of cold water really do feel like the most precious things when you have not been able to enjoy them all day. Being reminded of that – of their simplicity and yet their importance – is surely a good thing.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

The Ramadhan Diaries

Fasting in London and beyond

thekfcmonument

in and out of the Ramallah bubble

Overtime Cook

Just another WordPress.com site

White Elephant in the Room

random insight from an unwanted houseguest

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

